Managing licencing and user count

How many seats are we consuming?

On numerous occasions our clients ask us to assist them determining how many licencing seats they are consuming. If you are running a “tight” ship in terms of licencing, it may be particularly important. If you go above your licensing provision even by a single user, all users will receive the following message upon logging in:

While it is important to note that Panviva application will never put a hard stop on the users’ ability to proceed (they can simply press ‘Continue’), it is undoubtedly annoying and creates unpleasant user experience from the start.

The easiest way to determine how many seats you are currently occupying is to check the members of ‘anybody’ role:

Unfortunately, the arithmetic doesn’t stop there. Panviva users do not consume a licence seat, but are members of ‘anybody’ role, so if you search for the term ‘panviva.com’, you will find all users with Panviva email:

Subtracting this number from the overall number of users will give you the number of users consuming a licence seat.

Managing users without deletion

A large number of our clients are deleting users from the application in order to make licences available to new users. However, you may be in a situation requiring you to never delete users from the system. Be it for reporting, auditing or any other reason, the objective remains unchanged – you need to ensure that a user with no access to the application stops consuming a licence seat, while leaving the document ownership, audit trail, document access statistics and training results intact. This is how it can be achieved.

As part of a default implementation, the ‘anybody’ role is added as a member of the ‘viewer_users’ role. The latter is the role responsible for licencing, i.e. is where the license usage count is taken from. Since all users, without exception, are in ‘anybody’ role, they will take up a licence. To overcome this, you may create a custom role called ‘active_users’ (or name it whatever you see fit) and then add all current users to this role. Then add this role to the ‘viewer_users’ role and remove the ‘anybody’ from there:


By doing this, you can now manage all active users by adding them to and removing from this role without having to delete them from the system.

With this approach, there is a small additional step to be remembered to always add a newly created user to the ‘active_users’ role, otherwise such user will receive a “not licenced to use this application” message. Also, it makes sense from a maintenance and reporting point of view to create another role called ‘inactive_users’ and consolidate all users there, who are not in the ‘active_users’ role.

This Post Has One Comment

Comments are closed.