Managing licensing and user count

How many seats are we consuming?

On numerous occasions our clients ask us to assist them determining how many licensing seats they are consuming. If you are running a “tight” ship in terms of licensing, it may be particularly important. If you go above your licensing provision even by a single user, all users will receive the following message upon logging in:

While it is important to note that Panviva application will never put a hard stop on the users’ ability to proceed (they can simply press ‘Continue’), it is undoubtedly annoying and creates unpleasant user experience from the start.

Managing users with deletion

A large number of our clients are deleting users from the application in order to make licenses available to new users.
As a part of our default implementation, the ‘anybody’ role is added as a member of the ‘viewer_users’ role. The latter is the role responsible for licensing, i.e. is where the license usage count is taken from. Since all users, without exception, are in ‘anybody’ role, they will take up a license. The easiest way to determine how many seats you are currently occupying is to export all users from Manager > Users tab. Click on the “hamburger” menu in the top right-hand corner and select ‘Export users’ option. Name your file, ensure it has .CSV extension and press Save:

The attractiveness of this option is that the resulting file automatically excludes all Panviva Support users, so the number of users in that file is how many seats you are consuming at any given time.

Another avenue is to check the members of ‘anybody’ role:

However, the arithmetic doesn’t stop there. Panviva users do not consume a license seat, but are members of ‘anybody’ role, so if you search for the term ‘panviva.com’, you will find all users with Panviva email:

Subtracting this number from the overall number of users will give you the number of users consuming a license seat.

Managing users without deletion

Having said all that, you may be in a situation requiring you to never delete users from the system. Be it for reporting, auditing or any other reason, the objective remains unchanged – you need to ensure that a user with no access to the application stops consuming a license seat, while leaving the document ownership, audit trail, document access statistics and training results intact. This is how it can be achieved.

To overcome this, you may create a custom role called ‘active_users’ (or name it whatever you see fit) and then add all current users to this role. Then add this role to the ‘viewer_users’ role and remove the ‘anybody’ from there:


By doing this, you can now manage all active users by adding them to and removing from this role without having to delete them from the system.

With this approach, there is a small additional step to be remembered to always add a newly created user to the ‘active_users’ role, otherwise such user will receive a “not licensed to use this application” message. Also, it makes sense from a maintenance and reporting point of view to create another role called ‘inactive_users’ and consolidate all users there, who are not in the ‘active_users’ role.

This Post Has One Comment

Comments are closed.